NICE To Develop 9 New Quality Standards

iStock_000006963239Medium[1]As reported by The Pharma Times, The National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) has announced that they will be developing 9 new quality standards during 2010/2011.

The 9 new standards will be focused on the management of the following:

  • Breast cancer
  • Type 1 and 2 diabetes
  • Chronic kidney disease
  • End-of-life care
  • Glaucoma
  • Depression
  • Chronic heart failure
  • Alcohol dependency
  • Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease

NICE has already developed quality standards on stroke, dementia and venous thromboembolism prevention.

The quality standards are produced in collaboration with the NHS and social car professionals. The development of these new standards is “central to supporting the government’s vision for an NHS focused on delivering the best possible outcomes for patients,” says NICE.

According to NICE the quality standards enable:

  • Health and social care professionals to make decisions about care based on the latest evidence and best practice;
  • Patients to understand what service they can expect;
  •  NHS Trusts to examine  the clinical performance of their organisation and assess the standards of care they provide;
  • Commissioners to be confident that the services they are providing are high-quality and cost-effective.
Posted in: General, News
CK Logo in place of featured image